The Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC) is a group of European regulators which replaced the European Regulators Group for electronic communications networks and services (ERG). BEREC was established by Regulation (EC) No 1211/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 25 November 2009.  


Main aim of BEREC is to achieve the objectives of the EU Regulatory Framework for electronic communications, especially mutual cooperation among National Regulatory Authorities.


BEREC is managed by the Board of Regulators which is composed of 28 heads of National Regulatory Authorities. The Commission, the EFTA Surveillance Authority and the States that are candidates for accession to the EU may attend the BEREC meetings as observers. The Czech Republic is represented by the Chairman of the CTU Council.

The work of BEREC is based on knowledge of individual regulatory authorities, Their experts participate in specialized Expert Working Groups (EWGs) in accordance with the BEREC Annual work programme where projects for a given year are set. The umbrella for the work of EWGs is provided by Contact Network (CN) which is composed of representatives of NRAs, Commission and EFTA Surveillance Authority. The Contact Network serves also as efficient communication channel for ad hoc questions among NRAs.

Administrative support to BEREC is provided by the BEREC Office, with premises in Riga. The Office was established as a Community agency with legal personality.


Plenary meetings and Contact network meetings take place 4 times a year.

document register: