European Commission


After the establishment of the new European Commission in November 2019, Thierry Breton was appointed a Commissioner for Internal Market, which includes also the Digital Economy and Society. The responsibility for electronic communications was entrusted to the General-Directorate for Communications Networks, Content and Technology (DG CONNECT) which replaced former General-Directorate for Information Society & Media (DG INFSO) in 2012.


DG CONNECT is the umbrella directorate for the whole digital agenda which belongs to the main priorities of the current Commission. Main objective is to shape Europe's digital future. The Commission's digital strategy also includes White Paper on Artificial Intelligence and European Data Strategy. In the upcoming 5 years, the Commission will focus on 3 main priorities: (1) technology that works for people, (2) a fair and competitive digital economy and (3) an open, democratic and sustainable digital society.

Advisory Committees

In the legislative area, the European Commission has advisory committees at its disposal. The relevant committees for the sector of electronic communications are: Communication Committee (COCOM), Radio Spectrum Committee (RSC), Telecommunication Conformity Assessment and Market Surveillance Committee (TCAM),  European Forum for Member States on public policies for security and resilience in the context of Critical Information Infrastructure Protection (EFMS) and Postal Directive Committee.

Useful Links

DG Connect

Digital Single Market

Digital Economy and Society Index